Monday, December 10, 2007

News of 2008.

Although we are by no means finished with 2007, we must inform you some bright bulbs flickering already in 2008.

Drive By Truckers - Brighter Than Creation's Dark
out January 22.
DBT (minus Jason Isbell)releases a new album in January as the whole alt-country world holds their breath. Patterson Hood contributes 9 songs, 7 songs from Mike Cooley and 3 songs from Shonna Tucker. Also musical contributions from Spooner Oldham. Sample all 19 songs SAMPLE If 30 seconds can gauge it, I'm in. Yep, I hear banjo too.

Cat Power - Jukebox due out January 22.
Another covers album by Chan Marshall. Tracklist below:
1. New York (Frank Sinatra)
2. Ramblin’ (Wo)man (Hank Williams)
3. Metal Heart (Cat Power *)
4. Silver Stallion (The Highwaymen)
5. Aretha, Sing One For Me (George Jackson)
6. Lost Someone (James Brown)
7. Lord, Help The Poor And Needy (Jessie Mae Hemphill)
8. I Believe In You (Bob Dylan)
9. Song To Bobby (Cat Power **)
10. Don’t Explain (Billie Holiday)
11. Woman Left Lonely (Janis Joplin)
12. Blue (Joni Mitchell)

* original version on the ‘Moon Pix’ album
** first appearance of this song

In addition, there will be a limited-edition silver foil deluxe package with a bonus disc containing the following 5 songs:

1. I Feel (Hot Boys)
2. Naked, If I Want To (Moby Grape)
3. Breathless (Nick Cave)
4. Angelitos Negros (Roberta Flack)
5. She’s Got You (Patsy Cline)

Destroyer - Trouble in Dreams due March 18, 2008.
RC's album of the yearsters 2006 Destroyer will undoubtedly release another solid album.

Track Listing:
Blue Flower/Blue Flame
Dark Leaves From A Thread
The State
Foam Hands
My Favorite Year
Shooting Rockets (From The Desk Of Night's Ape)
Introducing Angles
Leopard Of Honor
Plaza Trinidad
Libby's First Sunrise

Also, If you are interested in old lists (Best of 2006, 2005) See links just above downloadable mp3 section.

No comments: